ALTER EGO: Johann Sebastian Bach in dialogue with improvisation

ALTER EGO: Johann Sebastian Bach in dialogue with improvisation

Annekatrin Flick, violoncello
Birgitta Flick, tenor saxophone

More than just the sum of all parts: musical genre boundaries blur and new worlds of sound emerge when the twin sisters Birgitta and Annekatrin Flick open up their very personal perspectives on one of the most important works of the Baroque.

Johann Sebastian Bach’s “Six Suites for Violoncello Solo” (BWV 1007-1012) represent the cello’s development as a solo instrument due to their musical substance, but also due to the exploitation of the cello’s technical and tonal possibilities. Baroque and jazz are allowed to meet between pulse, groove and the free use of elements like time, rhythm or harmony.

Complete in themselves in their timelessly clear architecture, the cello suites become an ideal starting point for improvisational excursions of the tenor saxophone thanks to Bach’s ingenuity in motifs, harmony and polyphony. By being related to the cello in sound range, pitch and timbre, the saxophone becomes its alter ego. Through commenting, reacting and listening a fluctuating play starts oscillating between loneliness and togetherness. In this one-ness and two-ness, things are put into a different musical light without changing a single note of the suites.

Concert dates:
May 15, Schloss Goldegg (AT)
July 17-21, Insel Rügen (DE)